I didn’t know what to say to someone who has been raped

My name is Nela Gampe. I am 16 years old and I attend Kwamfundo High School in Khayelitsha. I trained as a peer educator with Rape Crisis in 2012

Image

I always knew what rape was but I didn’t know what to say to someone who has been raped or what one is supposed to do afterwards. I didn’t even know that a rapist could be arrested if someone reports to the police because I didn’t see rape as the serious crime that it is.

In the training I discovered how serious rape is and that people not only go through a lot emotionally but that rape also puts people in danger of getting HIV and other STI’s (sexually transmitted infections) if they don’t get the medicine they need straight away.  I know how important it is that people know where to get this medicine and how to report to the police. I also learned that it is important not to wash after being raped because the doctor can take evidence from your body that can prove that the person raped you.

Image

I also attended the Rape Crisis Birds and Bees camp in Paarl in March 2013 which was a chance for all the peer educators from the different schools to come together. We talked a lot about the things we had learned and also had a chance to work together as a team in our different activities.  The experience also taught me a few things about life, such as:

  • You must be kind to yourself, and do things that are going to be good for you
  • It is good to encourage others and to have someone in your life that encourages you
  • Planning is a very important step and if you plan carefully, success comes easier

Image

I think that the information I got and the skills I learned will be useful to me personally and as a peer educator. In my life, I am going to share this information with my family. As a peer educator I want to help my community. One day I want to create my own programme that teaches the young girls and boys about rape and what they can do if it happens to them or someone in their family.

If you would like more information about implementing this programme in a school or getting Rape Crisis to come and do a workshop or talk, contact Nazma Hendricks on nazma@rapecrisis.org.za

We extend our thanks to Oxfam for funding this project.

Oxfam Full Logo Horizontal Green

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by rapecrisisblog. Bookmark the permalink.

About rapecrisisblog

We have a vision of a South Africa in which rape survivors suffer no secondary trauma, and are supported throughout their interaction with the Criminal Justice System (CJS). Our mission is to promote an end to violence against women, specifically rape, and to assist women to achieve their right to live free from violence. Rape Crisis Cape Town seeks to achieve its mission through counselling and training of women, thereby reducing the trauma experienced by rape survivors, and encouraging reporting of rape and the conviction of rapists.

Leave a Reply

