We walked this Women’s Day

Almost 50 years ago 20 000 women marched on the Union Buildings in Pretoria in order to claim their right to move freely in their society without harassment. With rape statistics what they are today it is clear that these rights have not been fully realised in spite of advances in women’s freedoms.

Popular opinion about Women’s Day swings between support for celebratory events, speeches and ceremonies geared towards women’s achievements and more critical takes on the day’s failure to advance the fight for women’s rights.

We need to be campaigning for or educating on women’s rights on Women’s Day – and the women who need the day the most must be touched by it.

We need to take or demand real action and strong coverage of the glaring issues facing women.

We need to challenge those who infantilise women or valorise stereotypical gender roles.

We also need to challenge those who sanctify women as victims of violence, making them innocent of all human vice and thus robbing them of their basic humanity.

We need to challenge public perceptions of women as weak, as subordinate to men, as objects of men’s desire.

We need to tell stories of women’s strength and resilience.

Thank you to all those who joined us at the Artscape Humanity Arts Festival on Women’s Day. We welcome you to our family of wonderful women doing amazing things in their communities.

Visit our website to find out how to volunteer, stay in touch, or donate.

The Rape Crisis Team

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by rapecrisisblog. Bookmark the permalink.

About rapecrisisblog

We have a vision of a South Africa in which rape survivors suffer no secondary trauma, and are supported throughout their interaction with the Criminal Justice System (CJS). Our mission is to promote an end to violence against women, specifically rape, and to assist women to achieve their right to live free from violence. Rape Crisis Cape Town seeks to achieve its mission through counselling and training of women, thereby reducing the trauma experienced by rape survivors, and encouraging reporting of rape and the conviction of rapists.

One thought on “We walked this Women’s Day

  1. am a victim survivor..my ex husband every friday after drinking alcol..was beating me..kicking me..my 2 kifs birth by 6month..not .9month..and after that i move out in my house..after i want loyer to devorce.after other women was a survivor..she offer.me house and job with my 3 kids…he come late.rain was rain..he kick a door..he start to beat .me .kick me. and stabbed me 27 holes…i spent 3month in hospitaal..after i decide to help othe women victim like me..really i heal lot of women victims by sharing my abuse story..pls please ..help me by impowerment..and.skills..help.me..contact.082 576 8910..pls…help.me..and.i try.to.reg.a.org…name dipuo difedile club care on.facebook page..always.am ready to.help.other women victim like.me..so help.me.my dream come true via.skills impowerment…

Leave a Reply

